tiesandstilletos

Rice Free Risotto

In Recipes/Food on June 17, 2012 at 5:41 PM

Rice-Free Risotto.  It almost seems impossible to write those words next to each other but you’d be surprised how well this healthy alternative can capture your taste buds.  You get the texture of risotto without all of the calories and carbs of rice.

I first heard this mentioned on the Dr. Oz show and wanted to try it.  Although I am not a fan of cooked cauliflower, I opened my mind and put a spin on the recipe to my wonderful surprise.  Bon Appétit!

Ingredients

  • 1 large head of cauliflower grated
  • 2 cups portabello mushrooms finely chopped
  • ¼ cup fresh parsley chopped
  • Chopped onions (try leaks as an alternative if you can find them)
  • 3 cloves of garlic (or more if you’re like me)
  • Coconut oil (gives a mild, sweet flavor. You can also use olive oil)
  • Salt and pepper
  • ¼-½ cup of chicken broth
  • Fresh chives (I really just added these because I could pick them out of the garden)
  • Parmesan (optional) – I forgot to put it in but I’ve looked at recipes that have it in

Directions:

  1. Warm coconut oil in pan
  2. Sautee onions and garlic
  3. Add in cauliflower.
  4. Season with salt and pepper
  5. Add chicken broth.  Allow cauliflower to simmer and soak in broth until soft.
  6. Add portabellos
  7. Stir occasionally.
  8. Cook for about 5-10 minutes.  Cauliflower should be relatively soft.
  9. Stir in chives
  10. Garnish with parsley and parmesan (again, optional)

Again, I played around with some flavors adding the chicken broth, coconut oil and chives.  I think I was just afraid that I wouldn’t like the cooked cauliflower at all so I was trying to mask it.  But, honestly, you could cook this without the chicken broth for those of you who are strict vegetarians or vegans.  The coconut oil was also a deviation from Dr. Oz’s recipe but one I would not substitute out.  First of all, it’s a healthier oil for cooking and second, it adds a wonderful flavor to the dish.  The chives could stay or go.  I had them out back and so I try to use any excuse to use fresh herbs.  We absolutely loved it and we didn’t feel heavy and full afterwards.  Again, you got a great texture similar to risotto without all of the calories and carbs attached.

I served this with baked herb chicken.  Nothing fancy to the chicken so I didn’t provide a real recipe.  I think I used every herb we were growing and threw it in the pan to brown the chicken and threw some more in to bake the chicken.  (Rosemary, basil, oregano, thyme, lemon balm).  Okay almost every herb.  😉  But, it added a great compliment to the risotto.  Maybe I’ll look for a fancy chicken recipe next time.  But, the rice-free risotto could have been a satisfactory meal for those who don’t eat chicken.  A great vegetarian/vegan delight!

Healthy.  Delicious.  That’s What’s Up!

  1. What a great great idea!!

  2. I love this and eat it at least 2x/week. However, I can not find the nutrition value for this yummy dish! Can you help??

    • Honestly. I do not know. For the above recipe, I would concentrate on the values of coconut oil and chicken broth (if included). I couldn’t imagine there being many calories outside of that. Then I would analyze the nutritional content of the ingredients in terms of their essential nutrients. Thanks for your question! That’s what’s up! 😉

  3. This is a great Paleo dish. I will try it next week.

  4. I just made this tonight with a roasted pork tenderloin and it was fantastic! Thanks for the inspiration, I never would have thought of cooking cauliflower this way. =)

Leave a Reply

