tiesandstilletos

Chalk Talk Weekend Project

In Family, Kids on November 23, 2012 at 9:00 AM

Growing up, I always wanted a chalkboard in my house.  I loved playing school even if I had to be the teacher and the student.  (Yes, the downfall of being an only child).  Kids in my neighborhood would play but I guess the idea of going to school and then coming home to “play” school was not their idea of “playtime”.

Our girls love playing school and the best part is there are enough of them to play.  Count their dolls and you’ve got a complete classroom!  🙂 Thankfully, with the help of the paint industry, putting a chalkboard in a house is not as much as it once used to be.  In fact, you don’t even need to buy a chalkboard.  You simply paint and go! Besides, with the new modern-day “smart boards”, having a chalkboard may make your home “vintage”. 😉

We actually created a magnetic, chalkboard.  So, in addition to writing in chalk, you can also place magnets on it.  Admittedly, and probably due to the color choice of the chalkboard, the magnetic board is not that strong.  I think if you just wanted a basic black chalkboard, the weakness of the magnet wouldn’t be so bad because you wouldn’t need so many coats to cover up the black magnetic paint.  The magnet paint only came (or at least I could only find) in black.  So, choosing periwinkle/purple as the ultimate chalkboard color wasn’t as easy to cover the black magnet paint underneath.  Also, as a FYI, there is dry erase paint if that’s what you prefer.

This is a very quick, easy and affordable project.  I actually did this on my own.  Dennis kept the girls out of my hair while I completed the project.  It was done in a day.  Below are some step by step instructions for you to do it yourself too!  And, remember, it doesn’t have to be just to play school or for a playroom.  This paint is perfect for kitchens.  I’ve seen many people use it on pantry doors and write cute messages and reminders to their family.  Have fun!

What you will need:

* Painter’s tape
*Paint Brushes
*Magnetic Paint/Chalkboard Paint/Dry Erase Paint or Any combination desired (Magnetic Paint can be underneath Chalk or dry erase.  You can also do half chalk and half dry erase if desired).
* Trim in the desired thickness and measured to your board.  Don’t worry about sawing this yourself.  The people at the “do it yourself” stores are great and ready to help you cut your desired length.
*Paint for Trim
*Liquid Nails
*Finishing Nails
*Hammer
*Casings for the corner (if you are not using a miter saw)
*Chalk

1.  Measure out the area that you would like as your chalkboard and create a box frame or whatever shape you desire as your chalkboard with painters tape.

2.  If desired to have magnetic paint underneath, paint the magnetic paint in the box area.  Follow the directions according to the can.  I believe I used 2-3 coats of paint for the area.  (I was also painting over a green wall so you may not need more than 2 coats).  Let the magnetic paint dry.  It took about 3-4 hours.

3.  Paint the chalkboard paint on top of the magnetic paint.  Again, follow the directions on the can.  It only said 2 coats, but because the color of our chalkboard was lighter than the magnetic paint, it took about 5-6 coats.  So keep this in mind when selecting the chalkboard paint if you also select a magnetic paint underneath.

4. (As you can see, this is where I remembered to start taking pictures.  :\)  This is what you will have with the area completely painted.

5.  Carefully remove the painter’s tape.

6.  Unframed board

7.  Paint the trim in the desired color to frame the board.  We used leftover ballerina pink paint from one of the girls’ bedrooms.

8.  Liquid nails are used to hold the trim in place.

9.  Glue the trim to the wall to frame the board.

10.  Secure the trim with finishing nails.

11.  Frame is complete

12.  Casing blocks are used to finish and decorate the corners.  Or for those who are talented with a miter saw, you could corner the edges and place the corners of the trim together.  Yeah, not on that level of DIY just yet!  And, unfortunately, Ty Pennington was a little busy to come over. So, casing blocks it is!!! 🙂

13.  And, here you have your beautiful magnetic chalkboard!

14.  The hardest part of the project:  wait 3 days until use in order to let the paint set completely.  If you have little ones be ready to answer “has it been three days?”, “is three days over?”, “when will it be three days?” 😛

15.  Magnets adorn the board.

16.  Prime the chalkboard with chalk.

17.  Then erase.  Ready to write!

18.  School is now in session.  First lesson:  who runs the world? GIRLS!!! 🙂

19.  Happy faces in happy places!

Weekend Project Complete!  Chalk Talk!  That’s What’s Up!

  1. I’m a big fan of chalkboard walls, I have the kitchen pantry doors, and whole walls in my office and the kids’ homework room. My office wall is hot pink and it just makes me happy every time I walk by it :). The kitchen gets the most use. Glad to see you posting again!

    • You were exactly who I was thinking of when I mentioned pantry doors. And it has made me want to do it on our door too. I know it won’t take too long. That’s it! Monday’s project while the girls are back in school. Thanks for your inspiration! 🙂

  2. I’m tempted to add another wall in our game room. But it would require a DIY (I do have leftover paint). I’ve been afraid to try, but maybe you’ve inspired me. ❤

  3. We had a chalkboard next door … You could have come over anytime! Thanks for the detes … Planning to put a chalk or dry erase board up in my office. Didn’t know about the magnetic paint. That’s awesome!

  4. Looks great! You should come to the house and help me pull this together!

  5. Maybe, but you have one so not an excuse!

Leave a Reply

